Sidewalk Advisory Committee

The Sidewalk Advisory Committee evaluates new sidewalk needs throughout Polk County and prioritizes projects for funding that are recommended to the Board of County Commissioners as part of the annual budgeting process.

Sidewalk Advisory Committee meetings are held the first Tuesday of each month beginning in January and continue until the prioritized list of new sidewalk projects is finalized for submission to the Board prior to the annual budget hearings in September.

Board Members

  • John Hansen, Commissioner District 1
  • Anthony Lawrence, Commissioner District 2
  • Victor Troiano, Commissioner District 3
  • Charlotte Thomas, Commissioner District 3
  • Allen Ayris, Commissioner District 5
  • Wade Allen, Polk County Roads & Drainage
  • Amy Gregory, Polk County Roads & Drainage
  • Joe Montoya, Polk County Roads & Drainage
  • Greg Hentschel, Polk County Land Development
  • Julia Davis, Transportation Planning Organization (TPO)
  • Greg Rhoden, Polk County School Board
  • Sgt. Michael Bissett, Polk County Sheriff's Office

Non-Member Liaison

  • Bill Skelton, Polk County Roads & Drainage

For more information, contact Bill Skelton at, or at (863) 535-2200.

Qualifications for Board Members / How to Apply

The Sidewalk Advisory Committee includes five public members appointed by the Polk County Board of County Commissioners; as well as four Roads & Drainage Division staff, and one representative each from the Polk Transportation Planning Organization (TPO), the Polk County School Board, and the Polk County Sheriff’s Office.

Each Commissioner of the Board shall appoint one member to the Committee. All appointments to the Sidewalk Advisory Committee are repealed and replaced with the appointments and terms of membership adopted by resolution. The Committee elects a chair and vice-chair from its membership annually, and the chair and vice-chair may serve successive terms. Members appointed to the Committee shall serve a term of three years. Reappointments for additional terms are permitted.

Meeting schedules and documents

Sidewalk Advisory Committee meetings are held at 6:00 p.m. in Room 407 or 413 (dependent on availability) on the fourth floor of the Polk County Administration Building located at 330 West Church Street in Bartow, Florida. Meetings are open to the public.

Meeting Schedule

Date Agenda
October 1, 2019 SAC October 2019 Agenda
November 5, 2019 SAC November 2019 Agenda
December 3, 2019
January 7, 2020
February 4, 2020
March 3, 2020
April 7, 2020
May 5, 2020
June 2, 2020
July 7, 2020
August 4, 2020
Polk County Seal

The Polk County Board of County Commissioners is an equal opportunity and affirmative action employer.

Polk County Board of County Commissioners