Skip to Main Content

News Details

Polk Commissioners take oath of office

Published on Nov 17, 2020

Bartow, Fla. (Nov. 17, 2020) – Bill Braswell, Neil Combee and George Lindsey took the oath of office during today’s investiture ceremony in the board room of the Polk County Administration Building in Bartow.

The Board also selected Rick Wilson to succeed Braswell as Board chair and Martha Santiago to serve as vice chair during the 2020-2021 fiscal year – a process that happens every November.

Lindsey, Braswell and Combee represent Districts 1, 3 and 5 respectively, which are the seats decided in presidential general election years. District seats 2 and 4 are decided in general election years in the intervening years.

Combee isn’t new to the Board, or political office. He was first elected to the County Commission in 1988 and served until 2004. He was re-elected in the 2020 general election.

Following his initial service to the Board, he was appointed in 2005 to the governing board of the Southwest Florida Water Management District and served until 2012.

Combee subsequently served in the Florida House of Representatives until 2017, when he was appointed by President Donald Trump as state executive director for the United States Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service in Florida and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Lindsey was re-elected earlier this year, unopposed, for his third and final term. He was first elected to the Board in 2012 and re-elected in 2016. He first served as the Board Chairman in the 2014-2015 fiscal year and again in the 2018-2019 fiscal year.

Prior to his service as a commissioner, Lindsey served on the Polk County Charter Review Commission in 2001 and as its chair in 2009. He also served on the Polk County Comprehensive Plan Committee and numerous other city and county citizen advisory committees.

Braswell was also re-elected. Braswell was first elected to the Board in 2016 and served as its most recent chairman.